Minutes of the meeting of EACSL 2022

Göttingen/Anywhere on Earth, February 16, 18:10–19:20

29 Participants

Confirmation of agenda

The agenda is approved by Zoom vote.

Choice of secretary (minutes of the meeting)

Maria Kosche is approved as secretary by Zoom vote.

Report on general meeting 2021

The report on the general meeting 2021 is approved by Zoom vote.

Financial reports 2020 & 2021

- Financial report 2020
 - Dietrich Kuske presents the financial report for the year 2020.
 - The account balance has been approved by the two accountants, Christof Löding and Martin Mundhenk.
 - The balance at the end of the year amounts to €2,935.56, after total expenses of €4,818.26 and €6,116.66 income.
- Financial report 2021
 - Dietrich Kuske presents the financial report for the year 2021
 - The account balance has been approved by the accountants, Christof Löding and Martin Mundhenk.
 - The account balance at the end of the year is €3,657.25, after total expenses of €523.81 and €1,245.50 income.

The financial reports of 2020 and 2021 are both accepted unanimously. The board is released from future liability for the dicisions in the report by Zoom vote.

Election of accountants for 2022

Christof Löding and Martin Mundhenk are unanimously re-elected as cash examiners for the year 2022.

Membership fees for 2023

Dietrich Kuske in the role of treasurer presents the following proposal:

With effect from 2023, the annual membership fee is 20 Euro. The reduced fee for students is 5 Euro, and for members of EATCS and/or SIGLOG it is 15 Euro (students: 5 Euro). The organizer of CSL is responsible for collecting these fees from participants of CSL and to transfer the correct amount to EACSL. The board has the right to waive the membership fee for CSL-participants in a particular year, provided

- the participation fee of CSL does not exceed the membership fee and
- the financial situation of EACSL allows this move.

The proposal is approved unanimously by Zoom vote.

A new policy regarding service times in the board of EACSL

- The members of the EACSL Board agreed in 2021 that service times in the board should be limited to two terms (at most 10 years altogether).
- There is also an understanding that service times ending in year n will generally continue until a replacement has been elected at the membership meeting taking place (early) in year n+1.
- The statutes of EACSL shall be changed accordingly at some point in the future.

Changes in the board of EACSL in 2022 (election)

- The term of Florin Manea as CiE representative has ended in 2021, and he was nominated again by the Association Computability in Europe and accepted to serve for another therm.
- Anuj Dawar is stepping down from the EACSL Board after serving since 2008 and, in particular, as president, from 2013 to 2017.
- The term of Ulrich Berger ended in 2021, and he is willing to serve for another period.
- Ulrich Berger and Jean Goubault-Larrecq are elected by unanimous vote as members of the EACSL Board.

Election of new president for 2023

- The term of Thomas Schwentick will end in December 2022.
- Maribel Fernandez is nominated as next president of EACSL.

Maribel Fernandez is elected by unanimous vote as president of EACSL, effective from January 1, 2023, and accepts the election.

Report on Ackermann Award 2021

- The jury consisted of: Christel Baier (Dresden), Michael Benedikt (Oxford), Mikolaj Bojanczyk (Warsaw), Jean Goubault-Larrecq (Paris), Prakash Panangaden (McGill University), Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Torino), Thomas Schwentick (Dortmund), and Alexandra Silva (London).
- Eligible were PhD theses of 2019 and 2020.
- 8 excellent nominations for the Ackermann Award were received.
- The 2 winners are Marie Fortin and Sandra Kiefer.
- Nomination deadline for the Ackermann Award 2022 is July 1.

Report on CSL 2022

- Florin Manea presents the report of the Program Committee.
 - The Conference was supposed to be in presence, but it was decided to switch to an online setting due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The decision was made in November 2021.
 - Excellent collaboration, 24 members, well blanced (geographically and genderwise)
 - 91 abstracts and 75 full-papers where submitted. 35 papers were accepted. These numbers are similar to the previous ones. There were slightly less submissions than last year, and there was accepted one paper more than last year.
 - The proceedings are already published as LIPIcs Volume 216. The collaboration with the LIPIcs team was very nice.
 - The PC selected the winner of the first ever Helena Rasiowa Award.
 - Acknowledgments
 - CSL speakers and workshop organizers (LMW and LCC) and speakers for attending, contributing, and organizing
 - Co-Chair Alex Simpson for the very nice and productive collaboration

- EACSL Board
- Organizing Committee: Maria Kosche, Tore Koß, Patricia Nitzke, Viktoriya Pak, Stefan Siemer
- Elena Lykiardopol for designing the award certificates
- LIPIcs Team for the nice collaboration
- DFG and University of Göttingen for financial and technical support
- Co-Chair Alex Simpson approves the report.
- The participants of the membership meeting thank the Program Committee and the Organisation Committee and in particular their chairs for all the work.

Future CSL conferences (2023 & beyond)

- The plans for **CSL 2023** are presented by Lorenzo Clemente.
 - CSL 2023 is planned to take place in Warsaw, Poland Mon 13 Thu 16 Feb 2023 (workshops on Fri 17).
 - Booked conference venue: auditorium maximum at the main campus of university of warsaw in the city centre (with plenty of attractions nearby)
 - Warsaw has two international airports and train and bus connections.
 - The current plan is to have a physical conference.
 - The current plan is that the Conference fee
 - will be free for students,
 - includes reception, conference dinner, social event, and catering.
 - Invited speakers (~5 of them)
 - sponsored from the conference budget, if necessary sponsoring from local and EU research grants
 - PC chairs: Elaine Pimentel (UCL), Bartek Klin (Oxford)
 - PC: see csl2023.mimuw.edu.pl
 - Call for workshops soon
 - Helena Rasiowa Award for best student paper
 - Proceedings to be published in LIPIcs
 - Submission deadline: July 9 abstracts, July 16 full papers
- CSL 2024 is planned to take place in Naples.

• CSL 2025 is planned to take place in Amsterdam.

General Business

- The Helena Rasiowa Award was brought into life.
- CSL contributed to the start of the new journal TheoretiCS with Stefan Milius as representative.
- Javier Esparza gives a presentation on TheoretiCS.
 - TheoretiCS is a peer-reviewed Diamond Open Access electronic journal launched in December 2021.
 - Editors-in-Chief: Uri Zwick (Tel Aviv) and Javier Esparza (Munich)
 - TheoretiCS focusses on theoretical computer science (TCS), all of TCS, and nothing but TCS.
 - Run by scientists and published by the TheoretiCS Foundation e.V.
 - Emphasis on quality
 - Editorial board: 44 prominent members from all areas of TCS
 - Advisory board consisting mostly of representatives of major TCS conferences. Currently: STOC, FOCS, STACS, COLT, ICALP, CONCUR, FSCD, ITCS, SODA, MFCS, FSTTCS, TCC, ICDT, CCC, CSL, LICS, SoCG, FoSSaCS, APPROX, PODC
 - Two-phase review system:
 - first phase concentrates on relevance and signifance, notifications after 3 months,
 - second phase examines correctness and exposition.
- EACSL sponsored a course at ESSLLI in 2021.
- EACSL scientifically sponsored WoLLiC in 2021.
- There are no further matters to be discussed.