ACKERMANN AWARD 2023

THE EACSL OUTSTANDING DISSERTATION AWARD FOR

Logic in Computer Science 2023

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

DEADLINE: 1 JULY 2023

Nominations are invited for the 2023 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2022 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 July 2023. Submission details follow below.

The 2023 Ackermann Award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL 2024, the annual conference of the EACSL.

The award consists of a certificate, an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference, the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings, an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS, and financial support to attend the conference.

Submissions:

The nominations should be submitted by the candidate or the thesis supervisor via Easychair: https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=ackermann23 Please submit a pdf file containing:

1. a summary in English of the thesis (maximum 10 pages), providing a gentle introduction and overview of the thesis, highlighting the novel results and their impact and including a link to the thesis (please do not include the thesis itself);

- 2. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English);
- 3. a copy of a document stating that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognised University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate was awarded the PhD degree within the specified period;
- 4. a short CV of the candidate.

Ackermann Jury:

- Christel Baier (TU Dresden)
- Maribel Fernandez (King's College London), president of EACSL
- Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay)
- Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University), ACM SIGLOG rep.
- Delia Kesner (IRIF, Université Paris Cité)
- Slawomir Lasota (University of Warsaw)
- Florin Manea (University of Göttingen), vice-president of EACSL
- Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
- James Worrell (University of Oxford).

For more information please contact Maribel Fernández: Maribel.Fernandez@kcl.ac.uk