# Minutes of the meeting of EACSL 2023

Warsaw, February 15th, 17:05-17:50

(18 participants)

## Confirmation of agenda

The agenda is approved by acclamation.

## Choice of secretary (Minutes of the meeting)

Lorenzo Clemente is approved by acclamation to be the secretary.

### Report on general meeting 2022

The report on the general meeting 2022 is approved by acclamation.

## Financial report 2022

- Maribel Fernandez presents the financial report for the year 2022.
- The account balance has been approved by the accountants, Christof Löding and Martin Mundhenk.
- The account balance at the end of the year is €4,758.69, after total expenses of €303.56 and €1.405.0 income.
- The financial report is accepted unanimously and the board is released from future liability for the decisions in the report.

#### **Election of accountants for 2023**

Christof Löding and Martin Mundhenk are unanimously re-elected as cash examiners for the year 2023.

# Changes in the board of EACSL in 2023 (elections)

- The term of Thomas Schwentick (former president) ended in 2022 and he left the board.
- Luke Ong has resigned from the board.
- The terms of Mikolaj Bojanczyk, Valentin Goranko as board members, and Dietrich Kuske as board member and treasurer, ended in 2022. Their terms were renewed with unanimous vote.
- Christel Baier, Elaine Pimentel, and Alex Simpson were unanimously elected as new board members.
- The term of Simona Ronchi della Rocca as vice-president ended in 2022 and she left the board. Florin Manea (already a board member) has been elected as vice-president with unanimous vote, effective from January 1, 2023.

# Report on Ackermann Award 2022

• The jury consisted of: Christel Baier (Dresden), Maribel Fernandez (London), Jean Goubault-Larrecq (Paris), Delia Kesner (Paris), Slaomir Lasota (Warsaw), Prakash

- Panangaden (McGill), Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Torino), Thomas Schwentick (Dortmund, chair), Alexandra Silva (Cornell), and James Worrell (Oxford).
- PhD theses from 2021 were eligible, there were 11 nominations (from 8 countries, and 5 theses have female authors).
- The winner was Alexander Bentkamp (Free University of Amsterdam).
- The nomination deadline for the Ackermann Award 2022 is July 1 2023.

### Report on CSL 2023

Bartek Klin (co-chair) delivers a brief report on the PC work of CSL'23, which was done in collaboration with Elaine Pimentel (co-chair, not physically present in Warsaw).

- The conference was announced as a physical event from the beginning and it indeed happened as a physical event.
- The PC comprised 25 members, of which 9 female and 16 male.
- There were 93 submitted abstracts, followed by 75 full submissions, of which 34 papers were finally accepted. These numbers are rather similar to the ones from the previous 4 years.
- Bartek Klin proposes to start keeping track of a new statistics, namely, the number of submissions that are in fact resubmissions. For this year this has been established by asking PC members to signal which papers have previously been submitted somewhere else, to the best of their knowledge.
  - The CSL'23 number of resubmissions has been established at >= 8.
- The proceedings are already published as LIPIcs Volume 252.
- The PC selected the winner (Hiromi Tanaka) of the Helena Rasiowa Award for the best student paper at CSL'23.

Lorenzo Clemente delivers a very brief report on the organisation of CSL'23.

### **Future CSL Conferences**

Maribel Fernandez briefly illustrates the future CSL conferences.

- CSL 2024 will be held in Naples 19-23 Feb 2024. The organiser is Aniello Murano.
  PC chairs: Aniello Murano and Alexandra Silva.
- CSL 2025 will be held in Amsterdam. The organiser is Wan Fokkink. PC chairs: Joerg Endrullis and Sylvain Schmitz.

#### General business

- EACSL sponsored a course at ESSLLI in 2022
- EACSL scientifically sponsored WoLLiC in 2022
- EACSL is represented in LMCS board and SIGLOG committee for ACM Research Highlights