Minutes of the Business- and Membership Meeting of the European Association of Computer Science Logic (EACSL) in Aarhus, August 25, 1997

The meeting is opened at 5.45 p.m. by Prof. E. Boerger, president of EACSL,

who also serves as chairman of the meeting. The minutes are taken by $\ensuremath{\mathtt{W}}.$

Thomas.

- 38 members of the EACSL are present. The list of participants is appended. It is checked that the meeting has been convoked in accordance with the statutes. The following Agenda is suggested:
- 1. Confirmation of the Agenda
- 2. Report on Activities, including report from accountants for 1997
- 3. Choice of accountants for 1996
- 4. Report of the CSL'97 program committee
- 5. Future CSL meetings
- 6. Election of new EACSL Board
- 7. Proposals by members for future activities
- 8. Miscellaneous
- ad 1: The agenda is unanimously accepted.
- ad 2: Egon Boerger reports on the scientific activities of the past year,

mentioning in particular the support of the Goedel Conference 1996 in $\ensuremath{\mathsf{Brno}}$

through a subsidy. He also communicates the accountants' report (Dr. $\ensuremath{\mathtt{B}}$.

Borchert, Dr. W. Lenski) who found the accounts completely in order. (The $\,$

report is attached.) The meeting follows the recommendation of the accountants unanimously, to discharge the treasurer, Prof. K. Ambos-Spies,

and the EACSL Board for the year 1996, and thanks for their work.

ad 3: Following a suggestion of the chairman, Dr. B. Borchert, Heidelberg,

and Dr. W. Lenski, Kaiserslautern, are selected again unanimously to be accountants for the year 1997.

ad 4: Wolfgang Thomas reports on the work of the program committee of CSL'97:

92 papers were submitted, out of which 31 were accepted. The submissions

represented a good distribution over the CSL topics. The electronic submission procedure worked perfectly due to the help of Luca Cattani and

Vladimiro Sassone at BRICS in Aarhus. Due to the financial support of BRICS, $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) +\left(1\right$

the PC had a physical meeting which went smoothly and efficiently. Three more

critical points happened: (1) During the procedure of nomination of invited

speakers one member of the PC disagreed and left the PC. (2) After the

selection of the papers, it turned out that one paper had been submitted (and

accepted by) another logic conference, the date of the PC meeting being

identical to that of CSL. After a consultation between the two PC's , the $\,$

paper was excluded from presentation at both conferences. (3) In connection

with the previous point, the status of the acceptance of papers for CSL was

raised, as opposed to inclusion of papers in the preceedings. Also from

several other authors, questions were raised concerning the publication

procedure. Chair and vice-chair of the PC of CSL'97 recommend to rethink the

publication issue and adopt (in principle) the usual procedure of one acceptance process.

After a short discussion, it is decided to put the point on the agenda of the

 ${\tt CSL'98}$ business meeting. An e-mail discussion on the issue should precede the

meeting. W. Thomas agrees to communicate his experiences and suggestions by

such an e-mail communication.

ad 5: E. Boerger announces locations and PC chairs for the coming CSL conferences:

1998 Brno (G. Gottlob, E. Grandjean)

1999 Madrid (M. Artalejo, J. Flum)

2000 Muenchen (H. Schwichtenberg, P. Clote)

ad 6: E. Boerger reports on the activities and discussion of the search $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) +\left(1\right) +\left($

committee (established in the business meeting 1996) for the members of the

new board. Unfortunately, one member had retreated from this committee, in

connection with issue (1) of agenda point 4 above. The following names were

suggested for the new EACSL board:

M. Bezem (as president), I. Stewart (as vice-president), C. Lautemann (as

treasurer), and furthermore C. Paulin, E. Palmgren, Simone Martini (also

publicity chair), A.A. Razborov, P. Hajek, M. Vardi.

All these persons have agreed to the candidature.

M. Bezem, I. Stewart, and C. Lautemann give short accounts of their background and their views of the main future activities they want to support in EACSL.

It is accepted without contrary vote that the election for the new EACSL board is carried out by one vote for or against the proposed board as a whole, and that this is done by open voting.

The voting gives a clear majority of votes, without contrary vote, for the proposed board.

Egon Boerger asks ${\tt M.Bezem}$, ${\tt I.Stewart}$ and ${\tt C.}$ Lautemann whether they accept

the election, and they agree. The other elected Board members had already written to Egon Boerger that they will accept to enter the EACSL Board in case they are elected. Egon Boerger then hands the presidency to Marc Bezem, wishing him success for the future development of EACSL.

ad 7: No points are raised.

ad 8: C. Lautemann asks participants to support EACSL by paying membership

fee directly at the conference, in order to avoid bank processing overhead.

No further points are raised.

Marc Bezem closes the meeting at 7 p.m., expressing warm thanks to Egon $\,$

Boerger for all his enormous and successful work as EACSL president, and

thanks also the members of the previous EACSL board for their work.

E. Boerger (Chairman of the Assembly)

W. Thomas
(Writer of minutes)