European Association for Computer Science Logic

The EACSL was founded on July 14th 1992, by computer scientists and logicians from 14 countries. The Association acts as an international professional non-profit organization.

Computer science logic is an interdisciplinary field between mathematical logic and computer science. The EACSL promotes computer science logic in the areas of scientific research and education. It supports both basic and application oriented research. The association also intends to advance the connections between basic research and industrial applications.

Each year the Association organizes the Conference on Computer Science Logic (CSL) and grants the Ackermann Award, for outstanding dissertations in Logic in Computer Science.


Statement about the war in Ukraine

The European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), represented by its board, expresses great sorrow and concern for the war in Ukraine and the attack on the freedom and peace of its population. It condemns the illegal and brutal invasion of Ukraine by the Russian Federation.

EACSL supports the values of peaceful and harmonious coexistence of people building towards universal scientific knowledge. To this aim, we believe that geopolitical divergences among nations should uniquely be resolved through the legitimate means of international diplomacy and that the violent invasion of a sovereign nation and its consequences on the population are never acceptable.

We join the expression of concern of academic and scientific institutions around the world for the suffering imposed on the Ukrainian population. We support all Ukranian scientific institutions and researchers and also those Russian citizens and members of the scientific community who are opposing the military aggression pursued by their own country.

EACSL will do all it can to financially support Ukranian researchers and researchers working in Ukraine to enable them to attend EACSL conferences and workshops.

Ackermann Award 2022

Submissions for the Ackermann Award 2022

Nominations are now invited for the 2022 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 July 2022. Submission details follow below. Nominations can be submitted from 1 March 2022 and should be sent to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail:

The Award

The 2022 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the annual conference of the EACSL, CSL 2023, in Warsaw. The award consists of
  • a certificate,
  • an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
  • the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
  • an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS,
  • travel support to attend the conference.
The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one dissertation in a year.


The jury consists of:
  • Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
  • Maribel Fernandez (King’s College London);
  • Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
  • Delia Kesner (IRIF, U Paris);
  • Slawomir Lasota (U Warsaw);
  • Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  • Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL;
  • Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative;
  • James Worrell (U Oxford).

How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit
  1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
  2. a detailed description (not longer than 10 pages) of the thesis in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file); it is recommended to not squeeze as much material as possible into these (at most) 10 pages, but rather to use them for a gentle introduction and overview, stressing the novel results obtained in the thesis and their impact;
  3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick (;
  4. a short CV of the candidate;
  5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.
The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman of the jury, Thomas Schwentick: with the following subject line and text:
  • Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
  • Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments