The Ackermann Award is the EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science. It is presented during the annual conference of the EACSL (CSL’xx). Since 2017, the Award is sponsored by the association Alumni der Informatik Dortmund e.V. From 2010 to 2016, the Award has been sponsored by the Kurt Gödel Society. For the three years 2007-2009, the Award was sponsored by Logitech, S.A., Romanel, Switzerland, the world’s leading provider of personal peripherals.

Submissions for the Ackermann Award 2020

Nominations are now invited for the 2020 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2019 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 July 2020.
Submission details follow below.

Nominations can be submitted from 1 March 2020 and should be sent to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail:

The Award

The 2020 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the annual conference of the EACSL, CSL 2021, in Ljubljana, Slovenia.
The award consists of

  • a certificate,
  • an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
  • the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
  • an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS,
  • travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one dissertation in a year.


The jury consists of:

  • Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
  • Maribel Fernandez (King’s College London);
  • Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
  • Delia Kesner (IRIF, U Paris);
  • Slawomir Lasota (U Warsaw);
  • Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  • Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL;
  • Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative;
  • James Worrell (U Oxford).

How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

  1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
  2. a detailed description (not longer than 10 pages) of the thesis in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file); it is recommended to not squeeze as much material as possible into these (at most) 10 pages, but rather to use them for a gentle introduction and overview, stressing the novel results obtained in the thesis and their impact;
  3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick (;
  4. a short CV of the candidate;
  5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:
with the following subject line and text:

  • Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
  • Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments