The Ackermann Award is the EACSL Outstanding Dissertation Award for Logic in Computer Science. It is presented during the annual conference of the EACSL (CSL’xx).

Since 2017, the Award is sponsored by the association Alumni der Informatik Dortmund e.V.
From 2010 to 2016, the Award has been sponsored by the Kurt Gödel Society.
For the three years 2007-2009, the Award was sponsored by Logitech, S.A., Romanel, Switzerland, the world’s leading provider of personal peripherals.

Submissions for the Ackermann Award 2019

Nominations are now invited for the 2019 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in topics specified by the EACSL and LICS conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2017 and 31.12.2018 are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission is 1 April 2019.
Submission details follow below.

Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2019 and should be sent to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail:

The Award

The 2019 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the annual conference of the EACSL, 13-16 January 2020, in Barcelona.
The award consists of

  • a certificate,
  • an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
  • the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
  • an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS,
  • travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one dissertation in a year.


The jury consists of:

  • Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
  • Michael Benedikt (Oxford University);
  • Mikolaj Bojanczyk (University of Warsaw);
  • Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
  • Dexter Kozen (Cornell University);
  • Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog representative;
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  • Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL.

How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

  1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
  2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
  3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters by other senior researchers (in English); supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick (;
  4. a short CV of the candidate;
  5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:
with the following subject line and text:

  • Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
  • Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments